IEEE Computer Society Members Elevated to Fellow for 2017

Share this on:

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., 01 December 2016 – Sixty IEEE Computer Society members and 11 IEEE members evaluated by the CS Fellow Evaluation Committee will be elevated to IEEE Fellow grade in 2017. The grade of Fellow recognizes unusual distinction in the profession.

The IEEE Board of Directors elevated 299 members to Fellow status for 2017, compared with 297 for 2016. Computer Society members and associates recommended for Fellow status in 2017 include:

  • N. Asokan— Aalto University and University of Helsinki
  • Todd Austin—University of Michigan
  • Alper Buyuktosunoglu—IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
  • Franck Cappello—Argonne National Laboratory
  • Michael Carey—University of California, Irvine
  • Luca Carloni—Columbia University
  • Edward Chang—Stanford Info Lab-Stanford University
  • Kiyoung Choi—Seoul National University
  • Sorin Cotofana—Delft University of Technology
  • Robert Cunningham—MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Tamal Dey—Ohio State University
  • Danny Dolev—Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Dov Dori—Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Frederick Douglis—Dell EMC Corporation
  • Falko Dressler—University of Paderborn
  • Ram Duvvuru Sriram—National Institute of Standards & Technology
  • Sandhya Dwarkadas—University of Rochester
  • Pablo Estevez—University of Chile
  • Edward Fox—Virginia Tech
  • Minos Garofalakis—Technical University of Crete
  • Soonhoi Ha—Seoul National University
  • Saman Halgamuge—University of Melbourne
  • Hossam Hassanein—Queens University
  • Payam Heydari—University of California, Irvine
  • Hugues Hoppe—Microsoft Research
  • Zhenyu Huang—Pacific Northwest National Lab
  • Deog-Kyoon Jeong—Seoul National University
  • Hironori Kasahara—Waseda University
  • Alvin Lebeck—Duke University
  • Kuen-Jon Lee—National Cheng-Kung University
  • Hsien-Hsin Lee—Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company Ltd.
  • Hang Li—Huawei Technologies
  • Phone Lin—National Taiwan University
  • Tieyan Liu—Microsoft Research Asia
  • Gabriel Loh—Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • David Lowther—McGill University Montreal
  • David Luebke—NVIDIA Corporation
  • Joseph Lyles—Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Pitu Mirchandani—Arizona State University
  • Jean Michel Muller—Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon
  • Nuria Oliver—Telefonica I&D
  • Rafail Ostrovsky—University of California, Los Angeles
  • Haesun Park—Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Jung-Min Park—Virginia Tech
  • Li-Shiuan Peh—Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Lili Qiu—University of Texas
  • Ravi Ramamoorthi—University of California, San Diego
  • William Regli—Drexel University
  • Reza Rejaie—University of Oregon
  • Gregg Rothermel—University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Bernt Schiele—Max Planek Institute of Informatics
  • Michael Schulte—Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  • Stanley Sclaroff—Boston University
  • Behzad Shahraray—AT & T Labs-Research
  • Hamid Sharif—University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Cristina Silvano—Politecnico di Milano
  • Alan Smeaton—Dublin City University
  • Carol Smidts—Ohio State University
  • Anuj Srivastava—Florida State University
  • Sabine Susstrunk—Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne
  • Nuno Vasconcelos—University of California, San Diego
  • Jeffrey Vetter—Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Wenping Wang—University of Hong Kong
  • Jianyong Wang—Tsinghua University
  • Chonggang Wang—InterDigital
  • David Whalley—Florida State University
  • Richard Wolski—University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Ying Wu—Northwestern University
  • Alexandre Yakovlev—Newcastle University
  • Mohammed Zaki—Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Ce Zhu—University of Electronic Science & Technology

The Board of Directors confers the title of Fellow upon a person of outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in IEEE-designated fields, who has made important individual contributions to one or more of those fields.

Learn more about the IEEE Fellow Program.

View past Computer Society Fellow Class lists.

At the time the nomination is submitted, a nominee must:

  • have accomplishments that have contributed importantly to the advancement or application of engineering, science and technology, bringing the realization of significant value to society;
  • hold Senior Member or Life Senior Member grade at the time the nomination is submitted;
  • have been a member in good standing in any grade for a period of five years or more preceding 1 January of the year of elevation.

The nominee cannot be a member of the IEEE Fellow Committee, an IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committee Chair, or a member of IEEE Society/Technical Council Fellow Evaluating Committees reviewing the nomination.