Awards Committee

IEEE Computer Society awards honor achievements in the field of computing. The Awards Committee governs the entire awards recognition process.
Share this on:


The IEEE Computer Society sponsors an Awards Program to recognize both technical achievement and service to the Society.  In the technical area, recognition may be given for pioneering and current contributions to the field of computer science and engineering. Service awards are given to both volunteers and staff for well-defined and highly valued contributions to the Society.

In addition, the Society encourages nominations of its members for appropriate IEEE awards.

The Awards Committee selects and recommends recipients for awards administered by the Society, and nominates and recommends candidates for IEEE administered awards.

The Awards Committee is responsible for preserving the integrity of the evaluation and selection process, assuring that the process is both open and rigorous, and that the process contributes to the prestige of the Society and the award recipients.

The Awards Committee chair is appointed by the Society president.  Committee members, including the immediate past chair, chairs of all the awards subcommittees and one to three at-large members, are appointed by the Awards Committee chair with the concurrence of the society President.

Awards Nomination System – List of featured awards and nomination deadlines.
Note: You must create a free IEEE account to start a nomination.

Awards Chair
  • Celia Shahnaz
  • Mark Weiss, Past Chair

Vice Chair

  • Bhavani Thuraisingham
Technical Awards 
  • ACM/IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award:  Steve Reinhardt, ACM rep.
  • ACM/IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award:  David Abramson, CS rep.
  • B. Ramakrishna Rau Award: Daniel A. Jiménez
  • Charles Babbage Award:  Yves Robert
  • Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award:  Tam Chantem
  • Hans Karlsson Standards Award:   Katherine Morse
  • Harlan D. Mills Award: Massimiliano Di Penta
  • Harry Goode Memorial Award: Ming C. Lin
  • IEEE CS / SEI Watts S. Humphrey Software Quality Award: Julia Mullaney
  • Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award:  Mary Hall
  • Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award:  Mary Hall
  • W. Wallace McDowell Award:  Baining Guo
  • Women of ENIAC Computer Pioneer Award: Jitendra Malik

Educational Awards

  • Mary Kenneth Keller Computer Science & Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award: Susan Wang
  • Taylor L. Booth Education Award:   Deborah Trytten

Service Awards

  • Richard E. Merwin for Distinguished Service Award:   John Johnson
  • Service Awards:  Celia Shahnaz


  • Ahmed Louri
  • Vincenzo Piuri


  • Anne Marie Kelly
  • Milagros (Millie) Lovos


Last update 04.10.2024