Peter M. Kogge

Award Recipient
Share this on:

Peter M. Kogge received his Ph.D. in EE from Stanford in 1973. From 1968 until 1994 he was with IBM’s Federal Systems Division and was appointed an IEEE Fellow in 1990 and an IBM Fellow in 1993. In August 1994, he joined the University of Notre Dame as first holder of the endowed McCourtney Chair in Computer Science and Engineering. He has served as both Department Chair and Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering. He is also an IEEE Fellow and a Distinguished Visiting Scientist at JPL, and a founder and chief scientist of Emu Solutions Inc., a company developing new architectures for big data.

He holds more than 40 patents and is author of two books, including the first text on the now ubiquitous technique of hardware pipelining. His Ph.D. thesis led to the Kogge-Stone adder used in many microprocessors. Other projects included EXECUBE — the world’s first multi-core processor and first processor on a DRAM chip, the IBM 3838 Array processor which was for a time the fastest floating point machine marketed by IBM, and the IOP — the world’s second multi-threaded parallel processor which flew on every Space Shuttle. In 2008, he led DARPA’s Exascale technology study group, which resulted in a widely referenced report on technologies for exascale computing, and has had key roles on many prior HPC programs. In 2012, he received the IEEE Seymour Cray award for high performance computer engineering. In 2014, he received the IEEE Charles Babbage award.

Watch Award Presentation | Ceremony Photos


2015 Computer Pioneer Award
“For the pioneering of three areas of computer architecture development of parallel algorithms for recurrence embodied in the Kogge-Stone adder, development of the multi-core microprocessor chip and the formalization of methods for designing the control of a computer pipeline.”
Learn more about the Computer Pioneer Award

2012 Seymour Cray Award
“For innovations in advanced computer architecture and systems.”
Learn more about the Seymour Cray Award